© 2024 WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Celebrating 50 years on FM 91.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The NYPO presents a Stravinsky retrospective from 1924 in July (7/24 @ 3pm)

Image sketch of Igor Stravinsky in black & white, with green background
uDiscover Team

7/3 Strauss: Don Quixote Bettison: Threaded Madrigals for solo viola Strauss: Ein Heldenleben (Frank Huang, v; Cynthia Phelps, vla; Rebecca Young, vla; Carter Brey, c; Bernard Haitink and Alan Gilbert, cond)

7/10 Bernstein: Overture to Candide Schumann: Manfred Overture J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 Thomson: Four Saints in Three Acts: Acts III & IV Bernstein: Chichester Psalms Russo: Symphony No. 2, Titans Debussy: Rhapsody for Saxophone and Orchestra H. Brubeck: II: Andante‐Ballad from Dialogues for Jazz Combo & Orchestra (John Wummer, f; Isaac Stern, v; Betty Allen; ms; McHentry Baotwright, bs; Lee Venora, s; Arnold Voketaitis, bar; Robert Eckert, t; Choral Art Society, dir. William Jonson; John Bogart, boy alto; Camerata Singers, Abraham Kaplan, dir; Maynard Ferguson, tn; Sigurd Rascher, sax; Dave Brubeck Quartet; Leonard Bernstein, cond)

7/17 Bernstein: Four Improvisations for Orchestra Mozart: Overture to The Magic Flute Copland: Concerto for Clarinet, Strings, Harp, & Piano Mahler: Adagietto from Symphony No. 5 Barber: Second Essay for Orchestra Shchedrin: Mischievous Folk Ditties Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story Beethoven: Gloria from Mass, Missa solemnis Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man (Stanley Drucker, cl; Eileen Farrell, s; Shirley Verrett, ms; Jon Vickers, t; Donald Bell, bar; Schola Cantorum; Hugh Ross, dir; Alan Gilbert and Leonard Bernstein, cond)

7/24 Retrospective: Stravinsky at the Philharmonic 1924 – Present Stravinsky: Scherzo Fantastique, Persephone, Rite of Spring (Richard Robinson, t; Vera Zorina, nar; Westminster Symphonic Choir; Igor Stravinsky, Pierre Boulez and Zubin Mehta, cond)

7/31 Barber: Essay for Orchestra No. 1 Corigliano: One Sweet Morning, for Mezzo-Soprano and Orchestra Dvořák: Symphony No. 7 (Stephanie Blythe, ms; Alan Gilbert, cond)