© 2022 WXXI-FM | WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Perfectly Tuned to Your Day
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

A teenage piano duo plays Danse Macabre, From the Top, October 2021

Danse macabre

Just in time for Halloween, we'll hear the piano duo of Zhanshuo Zhang and Jennifer Centa play Saint-Saen’s Danse Macabre on Sunday, Oct 24th at 5pm.

10/3 Violinist Vijay Gupta co-hosts with Peter Dugan in presenting inspiring young classical musicians from Beverly Hills, CA. We’ll meet the Quantum Saxophone Quartet performing Marcelo Zarvos’ Nepomuk’s Dances; violinist Bianca Ciubancan performs Brahms’ Hungarian Dance No. 7, and the LA Children’s Chorus delivers a hopeful performance of Harold Arlen’s Somewhere Over the Rainbow.

10/10 Peter Dugan hosts a program that features outstanding performances of Chopin by pianist Justin Wahby, Bartók by violinist Hannah Tam, Rachmaninoff by cellist George Wolfe-McGuire, and Rhapsody No. 2 by Jessie Montgomery performed by violinist Ava Kenney.

10/17 Pianist Orli Shaham guest hosts an episode featuring violinist Esme Arias-Kim who has dreams of going to space, pianist Kevin Cho performs Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 by Franz Liszt, and flutist Nadira Novruzov who discusses her passion for the Supreme Court and performs Fantasie by Philippe Gaubert.

10/24 This week we'll hear violinist Célina Béthoux perform Peace by Jessie Montgomery, violinist Amaryn Olmeda perform Ravel's Tzigane, bassoonist Sam D'Amico perform a Sonatine by Tansman, and the piano duo of Zhanshuo Zhang and Jennifer Centa play Saint-Saen’s Danse Macabre. Orli Shaham co-hosts.

10/31 Flutest Sasha Hitachi-Kizzia performs Carmen Fantasie by François Borne, marimba player Glenn Choe who is a star member of one of the strongest marching bands in Texas performs an arrangement of J. S. Bach’s Violin Sonata, and pianist Victor Shlyakhtenko performs a Chopin Nocturne. Finally, we travel to one of Boston’s great churches to hear organist Marshall Joos perform the music of J.S. Bach.

Related Content