© 2020 WXXI-FM | WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Perfectly Tuned to Your Day
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Classical Music

The 12 Days of Ludwig!

Beethovenparty.jpg

Beethoven turns 250 in December (no one knows the precise date), and WXXI Classical is throwing him party! Since so many concert series were cancelled, we’re picking up the baton and running with it. Beginning Monday, December 7, we'll play all nine symphonies, in order, plus other gems picked by our classical staff.  You’ll hear everything from a delightful duet Beethoven wrote to play with a friend to his most majestic piano concerto. Here’s the schedule so you can tune in for our 12 Days of Ludwig.<--break->

Monday, December 7:

9 AM - Symphony No. 1 in C major, op 21
2 PM - Piano Sonata No. 14 C-sharp minor, Moonlight

Tuesday, December 8:
6 AM - Piano Sonata No. 26 in E-flat major, Les Adieux 
3 PM - Symphony No. 2 in D, op 36

Wednesday, December 9:
12 PM - Duet for Viola & Cello, Eyeglasses
5 PM -   Consecration of the House Overture, op 124 

Thursday, December 10:
8 AM - Egmont Overture, op 84 
2 PM - Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Eroica 

Friday, December 11:
9 AM - Symphony No. 4 in B major, op 60
6 PM - Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Emperor

Saturday, December 12:
4 PM - Beethoven Lives Upstairs

Sunday, December 13:
7 AM - Symphony No. 5 in c minor, op 67 
1 PM - Andante Favori in F major

Monday, December 14:
9 AM - Symphony No. 6 in F major, Pastoral
6 PM - Clarinet Trio in B-flat major, op 11 

Tuesday, December 15:
1 PM - String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, op 130

Wednesday, December 16:
9 AM - Piano Sonata No. 32 in c minor, op 111 
3 PM - Symphony No. 7 in A, op 92  

Thursday, December 17:
9 AM - Symphony No. 8 in F, op 93

Friday, December 18:
1:50 PM - Symphony No. 9 in d minor, Choral