© 2023 WXXI-FM | WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Perfectly Tuned to Your Day
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

A new season of the San Francisco Symphony begins Wed 5/18 @ 8pm

Composer Carlos Simon sitting on a step in front of a purple doorway
Award-Winning Composer Carlos Simon

We'll hear award-winning composer Carlos Simon's Elegy (A Cry from the Grave) on the 5/25 broadcast

The season opener includes Lyric for Strings by Eastman School of Music graduate, the late George Walker.

5/18 Sibelius: Rakastava Walker: Lyric for Strings Nielsen: Little Suite Shaw: Entr’acte Grieg: Holberg Suite Waley-Cohen: Talisman Barber: Adagio for Strings (Cassandra Hunter, nar; Esa-Pekka Salonen and James Gaffigan, cond)

5/25      R. Strauss: Serenade Daniel Kidane: Be Still Brahms: Violin Concerto Montgomery: Banner Simon: Elegy (A Cry from the Grave) Bizet: Carmen Suite (Augustin Hadelich, v; Esa-Pekka Salonen and Joseph Young, cond)