© 2024 WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Celebrating 50 years on FM 91.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Meet Islandic composer Anna Thorvaldscottir and hear her music on the San Francisco Symphony in July (7/13 @ 8p)

Anna Thorvaldscottir, composer
Anna Thorvaldsdottir Composer-in-Residence at the Iceland Symphony Orchestra

Commissioned by the New York Philharmonic and performed last April under the baton of Esa-Pekka Salonen, Metacosmos is already on the roster of many of the world's leading orchestras, including the San Francisco Symphony.

Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir uses combinations of timbres that are at times ominous, or melancholy, and always powerful.

7/6 Mozart: Clarinet Concerto Bruckner/Robert Haas: Symphony No. 5 (Carey Bell, cl; Jaap van Zweden, cond)

7/13 Anna Thorvaldsdottir: Metacosmos R. Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra Sibelius: Four Legends from the Kalevala (Esa-Pekka Salonen, cond)

7/20 Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, Pastoral Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3, Scottish (Herbert Blomstedt, cond)

7/27 Steven Mackey: Portals, Scenes and Celebrations Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1 Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4 (Gil Shaham, v; Michael Tilson Thomas, cond)