© 2024 WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Celebrating 50 years on FM 91.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The San Francisco SO presents the west coast premiere of Anna Clyne's Sound & Fury, 7/12 @ 8pm

Jennifer Taylor

Ferocious, haunting, serene, searching, Anna Clyne’s Sound and Fury takes inspiration from the emotionally fraught verses of Shakespeare’s Macbeth.

7/5 Ravel: Ma Mère l’Oye Timothy Higgins: Trombone Concerto Copland: Appalachian Spring (Timothy Higgins, tn; Michael Tilson Thomas and Ludovic Morlot, cond)

7/12 Anna Clyne: Sound and Fury Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 (Michelle Bradley, s; Jennifer Johnson Cano, ms; Mario Chang, t; Rod Gilfry, bar; SFS Chorus; Daniel Stewart, cond)

7/19 Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 Mahler: Symphony No. 1 (Yuja Wang, p; Michael Tilson Thomas, cond)

7/26 Elizabeth Ogonek: Sleep & Unremembrance Stravinsky: Violin Concerto, Le Sacre du printemps (Leila Josefowicz, v; Esa-Pekka Salonen, cond)