© 2024 WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Celebrating 50 years on FM 91.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

SymphonyCast presents Tchaikovsky's Manfred Symphony, Fri 2/16 @ 8pm

Manfred is a "Symphony in Four Scenes" by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, based upon the 1817 poem of the same name by Lord Byron. Read the poem.

Painting of a man on a cliff, looking over water and seeing faint images of beings
The Whitworth Art Gallery, University of Manchester
John Martin Manfred and the Witch of the Alps. 1837.

2/2 Martínez: Sinfonia Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 Schmidt: Symphony No. 2 (Evgeny Kissin, p; Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra; Fabio Luisi cond)

2/9 Dukas: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice Ravel: Piano Concerto Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique (Pascal Rogé, p; KBS Symphony Orchestra; Pietari Inkinen, cond)

2/16 Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 Tchaikovsky: Manfred Symphony (Augustin Hadelich, v; NDR Radio Philharmonic Orchestra; Robert Treviño, cond)

2/23 Mozart: Symphony No. 25 Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 Bizet: Symphony No. 1 (Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra; Joshua Bell, v and cond)

Related Content