© 2022 WXXI-FM | WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Perfectly Tuned to Your Day
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts Features

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra announces a brand new concert film for children and families

Merregnon lead

Performed through narration, music and beautiful illustrations, Merregnon: Land of Silence is a symphonic fairy tale designed to introduce children to the wonder of the orchestral sound and built in the tradition of timeless classics like Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf and Saint-Saens’ Carnival of the Animals.

Merregnon cello

The story has been written by celebrated German children’s author Frauke Angel, and the exclusive music is composed by internationally renowned composer Yoko Shimomura, known for her work on multi-million selling video games such as Super Mario RPG, Kingdom Hearts and Final Fantasy XV.

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s premiere performance of Merregnon: Land of Silence is available to watch for free for one year on demand digitally at Konserthuset Play. Although the narration on this premiere performance is in German, you can select English subtitles by using the CC control in the video player.

Related Content