© 2024 WXXI Public Broadcasting, 280 State St. Rochester, NY 14614, (585) 325-7500
Celebrating 50 years on FM 91.5
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Honoring Black Music Month with Gateways Radio, weeknights 6-7pm, June 1-19

In recognition of Black Music Month, WXXI Classical presents an encore of the 13 part series Gateways Radio with host Garrett McQueen

6/1 Frank: Coqueteos Cockerham: Fantasia on Lift Every Voice and Sing Wolfgang: Common Ground Joplin: Cascades Still: Symphony No. 1, Afro-American (Sphinx Virtuosi; Damon Gupton, cond; Gateways Festival Orchestra, Michael Morgan, cond; Timothy Holley, c; Joshua Hood, bn; Armenta Hummings Dumisani, p; Detroit Symphony Orchestra; Neeme Järvi, cond)

6/2 Buskaid: Sunrise Price: Piano Sonata Traditional: Let My People Go Dawson: Negro Folk Symphony (Buskaid Soweto String Ensemble; Althea Waites, p; Howard Johnson Chorale; Gateways Orchestra, Michael Morgan, cond)

6/5 Debussy: Arabesque No. 1 Abels: Dance for Martin’s Dream Baker: Saxophone Concerto Lee III: A Narrow Pathway Traveled Perkinson: Worship (Branford Marsalis, sax; English Chamber Orchestra; Andrew Litton, cond; Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, cond; Thomas Walsh, sax; Czech National Symphony Orchestra; Paul Freeman, cond; Judy Dines, f; Terrance Patterson, cl; Kelly Hall Thompkins, v; Kenneth Law, c; David Berry, p)

6/6 J.S. Bach: Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring Montgomery: Banner Swanson: The Cuckoo Traditional: There is a Balm in Gilead J.S. Bach: Cello Suite No. 1 Traditional: When Asked Wherein My Hope Lies Traditional: Amazing Grace Perkinson: Lamentations (Armenta Hummings Dumisani, p; Catalyst Quartet; Thapelo Masita, c)

6/7 Traditional: Give Me Jesus Simon: Amen Traditional: Spirituals  Weston: Eurythmy Variations Hailstork: An American Port of Call (Celesta Day, s; Alex Laing, cl; David Berry, p; Mikael Darmanie, p; American Spiritual Ensemble; Dr. Everett McCorvey, cond; Gateways Orchestra, Michael Morgan, cond)

6/8 Coleman: Afro Fred Emory Smith: Suite No. 1 Dvorak: Serenade for Winds and Strings Rosales: Bolero Stravinsky: A Soldier’s Tale (Imani Winds; Ralph Barnett, Douglas Cardwell, Eric Goldberg, Jimmie Finnie, Malcolm Jackson, Donn Johns, Terry McKinney, perc; Kelly Hall-Tompkins, v; Garrett McQueen, bn; Terrance Patterson, cl; Herbert Smith, tr; Burt Mason, tn; Rick Robinson, db; Gateways Chamber Ensemble, Antoine Clark, cond)

6/9 Jones: Nettie Teaches Celie Abels:  Delights and Dances Arnold: Quintet for Brass Schifrin: La Nouvelle Orleans Ravel: La Valse (Harlem Quartet; Gateways Brass Collective; Imani Winds; Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, cond)

6/12 Coleridge-Taylor: 5 Fantasiestücke for String Quartet, Serenade Coleman: Portraits of Josephine Sowande: Jubilate, Go Down Moses Still: Sahdji (Catalyst Quartet; Jacqueline Cordova Arrington, f; Geoffrey Johnson, ob; Monica Ellis, bn; LeTriel White, cl; Priscilla Rinehart, hn; Nathaniel Gumbs, org; London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus; Paul Freeman, cond)

6/13 Margaret Bonds: Sing of the King Who Was Tall and Brown (Dussoff Choir and Orchestra; Malcolm J. Merriweather, cond) “Chick” Corea: String Quartet No. 1 (Harlem Qt) Ellington: Take the A Train (Harlem Qt) Price: Symphony No. 3 (Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, cond)

6/14 Piazolla/Scott: Libertango (Imani Winds) J.S. Bach: Keyboard Concerto No. 1 (Seth Blumer, p; Gateways Chamber Orchestra; Michael Morgan, cond) Kevin McKee: Vuelta del Fuego (Gateways Brass Collective) he River Suite (Detroit Symphony Orchestra; Neemi Jarvi, cond)

6/15 John Rosamond Johnson/Still: Voice (Videmus Ensemble) Childs: The Distant Land (Akron SO; Alan Balter, cond) J.S. Bach: Capriccio (Joe Williams, p) Elgar: Enigma Variations (Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, cond)

6/16 Coleman: Red Clay & Mississippi Delta (Imani Winds) Brahms: Variations on a Theme by Haydn (Gateways Orchestra; Anthony Parnther, cond) Price: Symphony No. 3 (Gateways Orchestra; Anthony Parnther, cond)

6/19 R. Nathaniel Dett: Madrigal Divine (Denver Oldham, p) Danielpour: From the Mountaintop (Anthony McGill, cl; Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan, cond) Price: Violin Concerto No. 2 (Er-Gene Kahng, v; Janacek Philharmonic; Ryan Cockerham, cond) Cockerham: Fantasia on Lift Every Voice and Sing (Gateways Orchestra; Michael Morgan

Related Content